What am I doing?

I have no idea what this blog is going to look like. I have virtually no experience with writing a blog. I should probably be disheartened by this fact, but I’m not. Being a communications major, writing is something I’m used to. Writing about myself for all to see, however, is a little daunting. But so are the changes I want to make. So why not conquer them together?

Speaking of changes, I guess I should start setting goals. I don’t know when I want to accomplish these by, so let’s just say they should happen “eventually.” But let’s not define “eventually” as when I’m 30. We’ll define it as a few months to a year. Here we go:

  • Run a 10K under 57 minutes (about a 9:10 pace)
  • Actually do the speed workouts I say I’m going to do
  • Actually do the strength training I say I’m going to do
  • Just eat better stuff, and less crap

That’s pretty vague. But again, I don’t have structure for anything yet. And these are all attainable goals.  The first goal is a little more specific, and I’m not going to be able to accomplish that without the second and third ones. As I start to do speed and strength workouts (hopefully starting today after work?!), I’ll post exactly what I’ve been doing during them.

As for eating, I tend to eat a lot of crap. My weakness is donuts. And living within a 5 mile range of about 15 Dunkin Donuts does not help. I live in New England, where you can find a Dunks on every single corner! My will power is going to have to increase a lot as I drive past my go-to DD on the way to church every Sunday. Updates to come on that, I’m sure.

This blog is not going to be offering professional workout routines or diet recommendations. I have no grounds to be giving that out. This is more simply going to be a chronicle of my journey to a healthier life, and some encouragement for anyone who chooses to read this. As I mentioned before, I am going to slip sometimes. But that’s what is so great about being human; we aren’t perfect, and it’s in our nature to make mistakes. So if anyone else is trying to lead a healthier life and feels like they can’t because you keep going back to old habits, don’t give up! I’m not planning on it. If I can do this, so can you. Don’t let one bad decision to eat that extra cookie keep you from reaching for the fruit next time.

One thought on “What am I doing?

Leave a Reply

