Training Plans

183689_10150105718414775_469603_n

During my first Princess Half Marathon

As you’ve probably caught on, my main form of exercise is running. I’ve been “running” since fall of my senior year of high school, but I’ve been actually running almost my whole life due to playing soccer for 13 years. When I gave up soccer my last year of high school I decided to start running on my own, and my mom helped me keep going by giving me the incentive of taking me down to Disney World and running in the Princess Half Marathon with her in 2011. Since then, I’ve tried to keep up with it, but I really feel like I only start training around September or October when I know the Princess is around the corner. After it’s over, I’ll stop for a few weeks. Or months.

Signing up for races has been a great motivator for me to continue to run, knowing I am working towards a goal. As of right now, the next two races I will be running in are the 5k during the Walt Disney World Marathon Weekend, and the half during the Princess Half Marathon Weekend. Yeah, I like Disney, but I could write a dozen other posts about that, so I’ll save it for later. But I will say – if you ever get the chance to run in a Disney race, do it. It really makes running fun!

Since the 5k isn’t until January, and I haven’t decided yet if I am signing up for another race before this, I’m really going to have to stay disciplined in my running schedule. The plan is to run at least three days a week – Monday, Wednesday and Friday – and do my best to fit it in on Saturday or Sunday as well. Off days (Tuesday and Thursday) will be cross training in some type of way, whether it’s weight lifting, swimming, or biking. I haven’t started any of that yet, but plan to add that next week (it should be easy too, since my roommate is going to be out of town and I won’t have anything better to do). This will at least be my schedule for the summer; once school starts, it could get a little tricky! But I won’t worry about that until I have to.

Races are usually what motivate me to run regularly, knowing if I don’t I am going to do poorly come race day. Right now I have the excuse to say I don’t have a race until January, but I’m not going to use it. If I start now, I can do the best I’ve possibly ever done in a 5k. All it’s gonna take is a little faith and some pixie dust!

Leave a Reply

