Excuses Broken: My friends are nice!

A Past Excuse: “My friends are more important to me than running.”

Well, that’s actually not an excuse. That’s a fact. But guess what I found out this week? My friends are extremely nice people. I could give you many reasons why, but one reason specifically is because they have supported me in my efforts to run, whether they realize it or not.

One of my many worries about committing fully to running was about missing out on times with my friends. This past week I was challenged to tell my friends that I wanted to run before seeing them. I didn’t tell them flat out, “I’m trying to change and get serious about running, so I can’t hang out with you.” But when they wanted to get dinner, or hang out after we got out of work, I simply asked them if we could push whatever we were doing until after I ran. And they were okay with it!

Prioritizing this week was a lot easier than I thought it was going to be thanks to my wonderful friends. It could be that they really just didn’t care that much about hanging out with me, but I’ll give them the benefit of the doubt 😉 Just because I wanted to run didn’t mean I had to give up spending time with my friends. While it’s important to remember what things should come first in your life, it doesn’t mean you can’t do other things that make you happy, too!


 

Week Overview:

  • Monday – Ran outside, 2.28 mi.
  • Wednesday – Makeshift speed workout at track, total of 2 mi.
  • Friday – Ran on indoor track, 2 mi.
  • Saturday – 8 minute abs workout
  • Sunday – Ran outside, 2.33 mi.

This week obviously started out a little slow, and my runs were not very long. Next week I will be adding in some strength workouts/cross-training.

Leave a Reply

